Day 20- Those small things and love at first sight

I have realized lately, that 50%-60% of the stress I take at any given moment is due to some very small things which if taken care of properly and on time,  would wipe out the tress they cause. For example, I am working on my laptop, and the battery remaining is around 50%. I know that I need to plug the charger to avoid any loss of data due to dying battery. However, if I procrastinate it till the very last moment when the system starts beeping, I will have uncalled for stress for that next half an hour for which the battery lasts. This stress is totally avoidable. My concious mind does not even know, that every time I am seeing the battery indicator on my screen, it is causing me stress, Just by being a bit less lazy, I can get rid of this unnecessary stress! Yes on the broad front I do have many tensions at any given point of time, like safety of my daughter, performance at work, parents’ health- now these are real issues. Issues that need work and constant attention. However, phone not charged fully before stepping out of the house in the morning, clothes not put in the machine on Friday night itself, not having breakfast, and then eating junk at around 11 am, and later repenting…unnecessary stress. This is totally manageable and avoidable. There are many day to day activities which if not taken care of at the right time lead to stress. Have a marriage in the family, which you know of months in advance, but you wake up only one week before to realize that your blouse with the saree you want to wear is un-stitched. Then you either rush in the last minute and pay extra to get it stitched or wear something else, and later feel bad, because you could not look your best! You got it right..totally avoidable. The fact is that since I am quite unorganized, this happens a lot with me. Off late though I have tried to get better at it, by trying to be more proactive and planning in advance for stuff; but the ongoing activities during the day- like charging phone before the battery hits the red mark! I am still far from proactive. The inertia is too high to get out of the mode of comfort and get up to address such things immediately. And as I write this I realize that the phone battery is about to die, I better charge it now, else I would be inviting unwanted stress this evening…:)

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Do you believe in love at first sight? I do when it comes to clothes..:) specially sarees. Saree is something, if it does not catch my eye in the first instance, its very difficult for me to like it. Generally its the first glance, in which I select my sarees, whether it is the colour, or the pattern, or sometimes just the fibre, that I fall for in a saree. For K’s bday last year, I went to a shop for a saree with my SIL. We saw a very beautiful saree at a store, and I loved it that very instant. However, since the color was a bit on the lighter side, SIL suggested that it would not suit the occasion much as it was K’s first bday, and the saree looked a little less gorgeous! Did I mention, that I am not very great at confidence on my own choices..:( I went with her to another shop, and there we were going through other sarees the shopkeeper was showing. Since I kept saying no to almost all of them, he asked me directly..” Madam, what do you have in mind..It seems you already have made up your mind as to what kind of saree you want, and therefore you are not considering other options!” (Honestly I was surprised, either he was great at analysing his customers, or it was too obvious in my behaviour!). However, after many sarees, he insisted I drape this bright yellow one; while I did not like much, but on everyone’s insistence tried it. Somehow, in the showroom light, it looked great. I bought that piece. Though I still had this thought somewhere in my mind that if I had more money, I would have selected that other saree as well..:)

I wore that saree for K’s birthday, and many people complimented as well; but till today, I have the image of that first saree in my mind, and I still feel that i should have gone for the first one!

Similarly, yesterday, I went to but a saree for an upcoming wedding in the family. I went alone, as I shop best when alone, else I get confused by the choices of people with me. So I went to a couple of shops, and finally entered this shop which had some good stuff. He showed me many sarees, I tried a couple of them, and when I was almost about to give up, my eyes lay on this beautiful tomato red saree under the counter. I immediately knew, this was the one I wanted to buy. I draped it, checked myself, and made up my mind in less than a minute. Just to ensure I was not being impulsive, I left the shop and checked out a couple of other shops, but all this while the red saree hovered in my mind, and I knew I had found my choice. I came back to the same shop and picked it up..:)

Here are the pics of the two sarees I had liked earlier..I really loved the black one, but black is considered inauspicious in our marriages, and therefore had to let it go.

20150120_161149

IMG-20150120-WA0003

And here is the one which I finally bought..:) I could not take a picture with this one draped as mobile data was slow and I was not being able to send these pictures to husband..:)

IMG-20150120-WA0006

I am glad this time I stick to what I loved at the first sight..:)

PS: Pls pardon the way I have edited the photo as I do not have a better application than MS Paint on my machine for picture editing…:(

2 thoughts on “Day 20- Those small things and love at first sight

  1. Love at first sight well I use to beleive in it but life has taught some good lessons. .

    And heyyyy you read the love at first sight well almost post on shoes at my place so there you go I proved my first statement wrong he he he he I did not learn…

    I know what you mean about stress if we avoid being lazy we can stop being stressed..

  2. Even I have the same tendency with dresses. Love at first sight works for me! Recently, I bought a dress for a cousin’s wedding and I left out one nice parrot green anarkali just bcoz it isn’t that grand looking. I had to go for another one and it still haunts me. I wish I had more money to spare. 🙂
    Until now, I didn’t realise that I too take in stress for little things that can be totally avoided. I should stop being lazy. But u know how difficult it is. 🙂
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

