M is for Matrimony (Part I)

M

I have been wanting to write a collection of posts on my encounters from the days of looking for a husband for myself. Its already been four years that I got married; and I have already started forgetting quite a lot of that. Before the memories of those educating days totally vanish from head, I guess I should chronicle them here.

I started searching for a match for myself in 2008. I got married in Feb 2010 after a six months courtship period. Though the period between Jan 2008 and Sep 2009 cannot be considered very long, it was stressful nevertheless. This journey to zero down on a suitable guy with whom you imagine spending rest of your life can be very depressing, scary, en-lighting and funny at the same time.  I will skip the depressing parts and record only those here, which had me wondering; if I am ever going to land up in the married bracket!!

The phoolwallah!

This was around mid 2008. I came across this guy AS (I do remember his name) through a matrimony site. He was a marketing professional and a good one at that. After exchanging few mails with him, I could make out that he knew how to sell himself. Now I have this weird notion, that those who are very good at expressing themselves through words (through ornamental words that is), may need some time to win my trust. Anyway, we exchanged few mails about our hobbies, interests etc and i was still undecided on whether to speak to him over phone and take this ahead or drop it here itself. One fine day while returning from work at around 9 pm; I had a small incident, where my handbag got snatched leaving me with a severely sprained shoulder and few other injuries on my body. I had to take leaves from office and rest for around four weeks. Since my hand was on a sling, I did not check my mails etc for a couple of days. When I did, I saw a couple of mails from this guy AS, frantically inquiring about my well being. I wrote a short mail to him, telling about the incident, and that I may not be able to correspond with him for a few days.

He seemed overly worried and suggested that if he can be of any help and send his friends over etc. I politely refused, assuring him that I had a good support system here and my friends would take care. I had no plans of seeking help from a relatively unknown guy.

I did not check my mails post that for a couple of days. After almost 3 days of this incident and the mail exchange with AS, one day my colleagues from office landed in my PG to check on me. During the conversation they informed me that some guy called X called up office to ask about me! I did not know any X. While I had lost my phone in the snatching; I was pretty sure no friend would call office. Those who cared that much knew alternate ways to contact me. This sounded weird.

Apparently, this Mr X called my office again. I called up the department secy one day when she informed me of the same. She shared with me the number from which the call had come. Out of curiosity, I called this number and discovered that it was AS!!!

When asked why had he called my office, he said that he was very worried and hence looked up the internet to find the board number!! Even after reading my mails??? Since there was no way to contact me, he had called my office under a fake name to get my temporary contact number. Why fake name??? and what was this desperation???  I was totally surprised. He sounded nonchalant about the whole thing.  He had used a fake name to hide his identity, he told me. Why?????  He had no clear answers. I was quite annoyed and gave him a good dressing down. This was the most ridiculous person I had met so far since the time I had started interacting with prospective grooms.

There is still more to the story. The very next day, while standing in the balcony, I saw a teenage boy standing and across the road and staring at our PG constantly. I felt a bit uncomfortable and came inside. Actually, I was a bit scared those days. I somehow had a feeling that the bag snatcher must have been stalking or observing me for sometime before he finally snatched my bag that Tuesday night. Therefore any unusual activity around the PG building was enough to stir up my imagination and scare me.

That very evening, I had a bouquet of flowers delivered at my doorstep. The name of the sender was not there. The delivery guy shared with me the number of the person who had ordered the bouquet. I called up the number and some guy from Chennai picked the call. He started acting funny. When I inquired about the bouquet sternly, he started giving some gyaan on how I will come to know on my own..and its his friend who has sent the flowers. It somehow struck me that this was AS again. I was right! When I called this fellow, he was shameless enough to admit that he had sent the flowers to cheer me up!!! WTF!!

A not so pleasant discussion followed which marked the end to the crazy encounter. Later I came to know that he had got my address from my office. I was absolutely stunned at how weird some people can be. This also made me more careful with respect to the kind of people I interacted with. All in all, it is one of the more strange things happened with me in the journey to matrimony…

Leave a Reply

